黛博拉•约翰斯(Deborah Johns)

Image of Deborah Johns

djohns@gtlaw.com.au

+61 2 9263 4120

+61 410 540 978

黛博拉是本行合伙人之一,隶属企业咨询团队,常年指导各类企业交易和商业交易,尤以基金之设立与复杂的合资交易为主。此外,黛博拉也受理各类业务收购与业务处置交易、公司管治事宜,以及一般性的企业事宜和商业事宜。她2002年加入本行,2007年成为本行合伙人。

在基金领域,黛博拉的业务涵盖基础设施基金、私募股权基金、创业基金的整个生命周期——从设立,至投资组合之建立,再至逐步撤资,无所不包。

她曾代表许多基金管理者和投资者,而且深谙各种基金工具,包括合伙和信托。除构建基金和办理基金文件方面的事宜,黛博拉还常年协助基金管理人处理各类监管方面的事宜,包括澳大利亚金融服务牌照(AFSL)、金融服务监管(FSR),以及反洗钱和反恐怖主义融资诸方面相关法律的遵违事宜。黛博拉尤精于受具体限制的集体投资工具(如多边投资基金、创业投资有限合伙企业、早期创业投资有限合伙企业、创新投资基金牌照、政府拨款项目)。

除设立基金和协助基金管理人长期履行管理职能外,黛博拉还协助众多基金客户处理收购和撤资事宜。黛博拉在全球兼并收购领域有17余年的从业经验,客户既有收购方也有出让方,所涉交易类型繁多。

黛博拉还在国内外指导过许多政府部门和私人客户长期而复杂的合资事宜。

此外,黛博拉深谙《1975年外资收购与吞并法案(联邦)》(Foreign Acquisitions and Takeovers Act 1975 (Cth))所涉各种事宜,尤值一提的是,还曾协助众多国有企业取得外国投资准可。

在企业/兼并收购及投资基金(国际公司)领域,黛博拉获《全球钱伯斯》(Chambers Global)荣列为外国专家(海外专家)。

加入本行之前,黛博拉供职于总部位于纽约的大律师行Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison的香港分部,在亚洲,尤其在中国大陆、台湾、印度的私募股权交易、直接外国投资、战略合伙、项目融资中代表客户。

黛博拉也曾效力前总部在芝加哥的Altheimer & Gray律师行,在该行的芝加哥总部和上海分部工作。

黛博拉1991年以优异成绩毕业于华盛顿地区的乔治城大学,获外事学士学位(美国国际事务)、亚洲学证书、中文能力证书。她曾获奖学金,得以在1991年至1992年在台湾国立政治大学进修,攻读硕士学位,并于1995年在密歇根州安阿伯市的密歇根大学法学院以优等成绩取得法学博士学位。黛博拉1995年取得在伊利诺伊州的执业资格,2004年取得在新南威尔士州的执业资格。

助理

Sam Leauma

+61 2 9263 4112

sleauma@gtlaw.com.au

Biography

Deborah is a partner in Gilbert + Tobin’s Corporate Advisory Group.

Deborah advises on corporate and commercial transactions, with a special focus on funds establishment and complex joint ventures. She also handles a broad range of business acquisitions and disposals, corporate governance and general corporate and commercial matters. Deborah joined Gilbert + Tobin in June 2002 and became a partner in 2007.

Deborah’s funds practice focuses on the entire lifecycle of infrastructure, private equity and venture capital funds - from establishment, to portfolio build, to winding down.

She has represented numerous fund managers and investors and has extensive experience with different fund vehicles, including both partnerships and trusts. In addition to structuring and documenting funds, Deborah assists fund managers with a wide variety of regulatory issues, including AFSL, FSR and AML/CTF compliance. Deborah has particular expertise in dealing with collective investment vehicles that have special restrictions (MITs, VCLPs, ESVCLPs, IIF licences and government grant programs).

In addition to establishing funds and assisting fund managers with their ongoing management functions, Deborah also handles the acquisition and divestment work of many of her fund clients. Deborah has over 17 years of M&A experience around the world, acting for both buyers and sellers in a wide range of transactions.

Deborah has also advised a range of government and private clients on long-term, complicated joint venture arrangements in Australia and internationally.

Deborah is also an expert in matters relating to the Foreign Acquisitions and Takeovers Act 1975 (Cth), and has assisted a number of state-owned entities to obtain foreign investment approvals.

Prior to joining the firm, Deborah worked in the Hong Kong office of Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison, a large New York-based firm, representing clients in private equity transactions, direct foreign investment, strategic partnerships and project finance throughout Asia and in particular in the PRC, Taiwan and India.

Deborah has also worked in the Chicago and Shanghai offices of former Chicago-based firm Altheimer & Gray.

Deborah graduated in 1991 with High Honours from Georgetown University in Washington, D.C., with a Bachelor of Science in Foreign Service (USA in World Affairs), a certificate in Asian Studies and certified proficiency in Mandarin Chinese. She received a fellowship to pursue a year of graduate studies at Taiwan’s National Chengchi University from 1991-1992 and received a J.D. with Honours from the University of Michigan Law School in Ann Arbor, Michigan in 1995. Deborah was admitted to practice in Illinois in 1995 and New South Wales in 2004.

Deborah ranked in the Investment Funds category.

Chambers Asia Pacific 2019

Deborah has been recognised in the Funds Management category.

Best Lawyers Australia 2019