Gilbert + Tobin has featured prominently in the Best Lawyers in Australia survey, including being named 2020 Law Firm of the Year in two key categories – Corporate Law and Private Equity Law. In addition, 92% of the firm’s partners were recognised as market-leading experts in their area of specialisation.

This result confirms G+T’s pre-eminent position in all aspects of corporate law, including mergers and acquisitions, private equity and equity capital markets. In total, 72 G+T partners were also recognised as leaders across 49 areas of law, including 10 who were named Lawyer of the Year in their respective specialisations.

The Best Lawyers in Australia list is compiled from a comprehensive survey of Australia’s leading lawyers evaluating their professional peers. The Law Firm of the Year awards recognize a single top firm for its work in a specific legal practice area nationwide.

Commenting on the announcement, Costas Condoleon, Co-head of Corporate Advisory, said, “It is fantastic recognition to be named Law Firm of the Year in the Best Lawyers of Australia in Corporate Law and Private Equity Law. These awards demonstrate the dedication and talent of our lawyers and partners in these industry areas.”

Neil Pathak, also Co-head of Corporate Advisory, added, “We are very grateful for the trust and confidence clients put in us, without which awards like this would not possible.”

The full survey results were announced today in the Australian Financial Review.

More information on Gilbert + Tobin’s market-leading Corporate Advisory practice is available here, and Private Equity practice here.

G+T partners recognised in Best Lawyers in Australia, 2020: 

Peter Bowden Philip Edmands Costas Condoleon Kate Harrison Peter Reeves
Michael Caplan Justin Little Peter Cook Amanda Hempel John Schembri
Alexander Danne Justin Mannolini Charles Coorey Andrew Hii Siabon Seet
Simon Lynch Phil McKeiver Adam D'Andreti Elizabeth Hill Adela Smith
Ben Macdonald Marshall McKenna Moya Dodd Deborah Johns Bill Spain
Simon Muys Tim O'Leary Rebecca Dunn David Josselsohn Lesley Sutton
Neil Pathak Sarah Turner Dominic Emmett Adam Laura Robert Trowbridge
Craig Semple Elizabeth Avery Darren Fittler John Lee Peter Waters
Penny Swain Dianne Banks Andrew Floro Lisa Lennon Stephanie Wee
Janet Whiting Jennifer Barron Christopher Flynn Crispian Lynch Michael Williams
Albert Yuen Rachael Bassil Ben Fuller Steven Mackay John Williamson-Noble
Julie Athanasoff Simon Burns Paula Gilardoni Louise McCoach Luke Woodward
Michael Blakiston Gina Cass-Gottlieb Tim Gole Sheila McGregor  
Claire Boyd Gail Christopher Tim Gordon Hiroshi Narushima  
Marcello Cardaci David Clee Richard Harris Colleen Platford